"American violinist Esther Yoo performed to an utterly spellbound audience at Aberdeen's Music Hall last night. Glazunov's violin concerto in A minor provided the ideal showcase for Ms. Yoo's myriad talents"
Andrew Youngson, The Press and Journal (Aberdeen)
"The Caprice No. 1 in E major for solo violin by Paganini which Esther Yoo played for us as an "encore" after the Beethoven concerto, heated the place white-hot."
Le Republicain Lorrain
“The performance of the young American violinist Esther Yoo led [the listener] into the serene, contemplative world of Mozart."
Peter Tölke, WAZ
"Esther Yoo made [the opening of Mozart's Violin Concerto in A major] blossom wondrously with her clear and intensely resonating violin tone and her highly sensitive interpretation."
Siegener Zeitung
"Yoo’s performance with the Hallé ... was simply sensational. ... Her performance shone with a brilliance that illuminated the familiar score and mesmerised the audience."
Alfred Searls, Northern Soul
Esther Yoo played with great musical sensitivity both to the work and the accompanying orchestra…interacting effectively with the orchestra to give a performance of great humour and charm.
Rohan Shotton, Bachtrack
The manner in which she swept into the first-movement cadenza was masterful. There was also great subtlety of phrasing – especially in the slow movement, and Yoo’s unhurried gentleness at quieter moments in the polonaise-like Finale was impressive.
Antony Hodgson, Classical Source
And the virtuoso fireworks of the finale, which can trip up even the best violinists, caused her no trouble. It was altogether a wonderful performance which thrilled the audience, aware they were witnessing a star in the making."
Ivan Hewett, The Daily Telegraph
The audience was held spellbound by her performance, particularly in the adagio, where she produced passages to overwhelming effect.
John Gilroy, Cambridge News
"She rattled off the pyrotechnics effortlessly: arduous passages in thirds and sixths, rapid repeated down bows, dazzling quasi-guitar effects, and tricky harmonics and left-hand pizzicatos abounded."
Claire Seymour, Seen and Heard
"It is not often I get shivers down my spine, and tears in the corner of my eye, but it felt as if Esther Yoo played on strings in my mind, transforming the music into a pure spiritual matter - a journey into an enchanted garden of memories."
Camilla Dal, Gävle Dagblad
"There are times when a standing ovation feels like a courtesy…This was not the case on Friday evening when the young violinist Esther Yoo had the audience on its feet. Dazzling technique, empathy and presence. Everything was there."
Lars Westin, Arbetarbladet (Gävle)
"It was a committed, commanding performance, full of passion and vivacity."
Peter Collins, Wales Online
"This very young violinist has fully proven her growing reputation as an outstanding artist. Thanks to her beautiful sound, impeccable intonation, dazzling technique and, most of all, deep musicality, her Sibelius was a real feast for the ears."
Dziennik Polski
"..a wonderful performance of Alexander Glazunov's Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 82, with rising star Esther Yoo, who at nineteen years old already has an impressive performing career."
David Smythe, Bachtrack
"In Yoo's hands, [Prokofiev's second violin concerto] turned into an engagingly fresh work: it was singing lyrically and [was a] beautifully long, shining and pliant cantilena with joyfully playing, sparking rhythms..."
Helsingin Sanomat, Helsinki
"Next on the program was Glazunov's Violin Concerto, performed with great passion by soloist Esther Yoo. [...] which sounds magnificent, the music Yoo brings forth is [...] almost creamy. And Yoo is good. Very good."
Ugenda, Netherlands
Latest News

BBC Music Magazine invited Esther Yoo to write a blog about her 2-year experiences as a BBC New Generation Artist.